Dinner, by lamplight by Félix Vallotton

Writing this blog made discover so many artists and amazing paintings. I really like all of the paintings I have written about. In each one of them there is something that really amazes me.

I love the painting of today’s post, and what I really love are the people in it. Today’s painting is: Dinner, by lamplight by Swiss-French painter, Félix Vallotton.

191267

Dinner, by lamplight by Félix Vallotton, 1899

As I said, I love the people in this painting. I really love the little girl looking at us, I especially like her eyes: the intense look she is giving to the viewer. Her eyes are so expressive, a thick black line surrounds them, making her look older than she is.

What I also really love about this painting is the light. I love how there is such a big contrast of lighting between the objects on the table and the male figures and background of the painting.

As for the dinner table, this really reminds me of a typical every day Italian dinner table. What reminds me of that is the bowl of fruit in the middle of the table and the nutcracker. It looks like the family already had dinner and now is eating fruit and nuts at the end of the meal. That, is a very common Italian after-dinner tradition. Especially during the winter, we eat oranges and walnuts at the end of the meal. A very common gift that families get during Christmas time is a basket, Cesto Natalizio, with fruit, wine, chocolate, dried fruit, coffee, special pasta, desserts like Panettone and Pandoro, balsamic vinegar and walnuts or peanuts. My family gets many of the gift baskets from relatives, friends etc. Lately in Italy it has become popular to buy cesti Equosolidali, which are baskets that have products that come from developing countries. Usually the profit from these baskets goes out to the people who work in these coops.

Since the main food in the painting is fruit, I would like to share a recipe for a dessert that utilizes fruit. Mini Fruit Tarts can be prepared with any type of fruit and are a delicious and beautiful dessert to make.

5831642251_9aecbb651c_o

http://www.salad-in-a-jar.com/family-recipes/fruit-and-cream-mini-tarts

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

