Fruit by Alphonse Mucha

I do not usually post paintings of people posing with food or still lifes. I usually try to talk about paintings that portray people eating or cooking, who are interacting more actively with their food. But when I found this lithography, I was so struck by its beauty that I had to make a post about it.

Today’s work of art is a lithography called Fruit by Czech artist Alphonse Mucha.

fruit-1897-1.jpg!Blog

 Fruit by Alphonse Mucha, 1897

I looked on the artist’ foundation website and found so many beautiful litographyes. Mucha was famous for designing ads for products like Nestle milk, wine, beer, perfume, chocolate, etc.

I love everything about this lithography: the colors are so intense but delicate and not overwhelming, the detailing is incredible.

I love the detail of the back of the dress and of the bracelet. Although this lithography was made in 1897, the fashion looks so modern and in vogue today.

I also love how asymmetrical the lithography is. Most of the head piece with flowers is on the right, along with the fruit the woman is holding. The colors of the flowers on the head piece have similar colors to the fruit the woman is holding.

As for today’s recipe I want to share something that uses some of the fruit the woman is holding.

She is holding pears, apples and grapes. Since grapes is the fruit that is most present in this piece, I would like to share a recipe that uses this ingredient.

Here is a link to the history of grapes and here is the recipe for Roasted Grapes and Hazelnut Goat Cheese Crostini.

Blog-31http://www.mjandhungryman.com/roasted-grapes-hazelnut-goat-cheese-crostini/

Enjoy!

One thought on “Fruit by Alphonse Mucha

Leave a Reply

